Serendipity Sauce

I’m going to interrupt the broadcast of the uninterrupted documentation of the perpetual decline of Western Civilization here at Logipundit to share this new recipe I basically came upon by accident. As we are currently impoverished, spaghetti is a pretty big staple at chez Broussard. My common recipe is simple:

1 lb. ground meat
12 oz. tomato paste
3 cups water
1 McCormick’s Thick and Zesty spaghetti sauce*
2 tbl oregano, 1 for meatballs, 1 for sauce
2 tbl basil, 1 for meatballs, 1 for sauce
2 cloves of garlic
1 tsp paprika for the meatballs
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 to 1 onion
1/2 lb cremini or button mushrooms.
1/4 cup parmesan

(*yes, I can replicate the McCormick’s flavor without it, but why should I? If you think I’m cheating, ask yourself if you ever been to a high end restaurant where they used canned mushrooms. I know I have.)

Brown the meatballs and onions, put everything in the slow cooker, go to sleep, wake up and voila!

Well, the other day we ran out of tomato paste, we only had one can. Fortunately, I had two aces up my sleeve. First, OSU honors graduate and soon to be grad student at MIT David Osher dropped off a bottle of Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon (Montes Alpha) to yours truly as a thank you gift. Second, I just picked up three bags of mushrooms at Whole Foods instead of the customary one. This is the new recipe.

1 lb. ground meat
6 oz. tomato paste****(key!)
1 McCormick’s Thick and Zesty spaghetti sauce
2 tbl oregano, 1 for meatballs, 1 for sauce
2 tbl basil, 1 for meatballs, 1 for sauce
2 cloves of garlic
1 tsp paprika for the meatballs
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 to 1 onion
1/2 lb cremini mushrooms
2 Giant portobello mushrooms
4 oz. Brown Beech mushrooms
1/4 cup Cabernet Sauvignon
Goat cheese to taste
(if you really want to hit a home run, throw about 2 oz. prosciutto in, but that’s optional)

Throw the mushrooms in the slow cooker and heat up while you brown your meatballs and onions. Let the mushrooms wilt a bit before putting the wine. Put your meatballs and onions in and put in your modest amount of tomato paste in with water. Throw your spices on top at the end. Bonus points for fresh oregano and basil in the sauce (I always used dried spices for meatballs, however). Also, I ran out of parmesan but happened to have goat cheese, this worked out perfectly.

The key was two things; I often use a lot of mushrooms but 12 oz. of tomato paste was overwhelming. Using half as much paste was pure addition by subtraction, the mushroom flavor was dominant. Instead of red, the sauce was a dark brown. Likewise, switching out the goat cheese for parmesan cut the sharpness out and allowed the mushrooms to shine. Beech mushrooms are optional but really match the wine perfectly. This could easily pass for a twenty dollar plate in a restaurant. Lastly, I didn’t use salt in this recipe, but the prosciutto is salty.

There it is, JohnnyB’s Serendipity Spaghetti Sauce. Gold level logimembers have access to thousands of recipes, and free financial advice. Just contact the editor with your CC# in the subject line and we’ll take care of the rest!

2 Responses to “Serendipity Sauce”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I tried your recipe and it sucked. Banquet frozen spaghetti kicks its ass.

  2. JohnnyB Says:

    I’d be careful if I were you. I’m almost a Dr., and according to state laws of Virginia I can prevent you from exercising your right to bear arms. Do your parents by any chance run a laundry?


Leave a Reply

